Transportation Planning

The South Jersey Transportation Planning Organization (SJTPO) is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) covering Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, and Salem Counties in southern New Jersey. Formed in 1993, SJTPO serves as a technical resource, provides access to funding, and works to provide a regional approach to address transportation planning and engineering issues.

Organizational Structure

The governing body of the SJTPO is the Policy Board. It consists of eleven voting members, including one elected official from each county government, one municipal elected official from each county (specifically including the mayors of Atlantic City and Vineland), and one representative each from the New Jersey Department of Transportation, New Jersey Transit, and the South Jersey Transportation Authority. The Policy Board is informed by recommendations of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), a committee of planning and engineering experts in the region. The TAC is informed by the Citizens Advisory Committee, a group of passionate citizens who provide SJTPO with the perspective of the public.

Federal Legislation

Metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs) were introduced by the Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1962. Congress created MPOs in order to ensure that existing and future expenditures of governmental funds for transportation projects and programs are based on a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive (“3‑C”) planning process. Transparency through public access to participation in the planning process and electronic publication of plans now is required by federal law.

Regions Served by SJTPO

SJTPO covers a region comprised of 68 municipalities in the four counties of Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, and Salem. The region is about 1,778 square miles in total area, accounting for nearly 20 percent of New Jersey’s total area of 8,722 square miles but contains less than 7 percent of the State’s year-round population.